Top 10 Most Successful Captain in IPL History

Top 10 Most Successful Captain in IPL History

IPL, since its inception in 2008, has seen many inspiring captains that have led their sides exceptionally. Some captains were cool while some aggressive; some managed to win while some are still waiting to get their hands on the coveted IPL trophy.

Different characters found their own ways to lead their respective sides successfully. Following is the list of top 10 most successful captain in IPL.

  1. MS Dhoni – Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

There is no list of successful captains that this man won’t make it to. The captain cool has a calming effect on the players around him, and it is no wonder that he is the most successful captain in IPL.

Also known as “Thala” down south, MS Dhoni, with 99 wins, has the most wins in IPL as captain. He has the best cricketing brain, and no wonder has led Chennai Super Kings to three IPL trophies. MS Dhoni is the most successful IPL captain when it comes to the most wins as captain in IPL.

Under his leadership, Rising Pune Supergiants also made it to the final once. Along with winning the IPL trophy three times, the MSD-led Chennai side has made it to the playoffs almost every season. MSD has an impressive 61.88 winning percentage. This captain cool is all set to lead the CSK side in the upcoming IPL 2020, and the CSK fans will hope that he leads them to yet another IPL trophy that will make him the most successful captain in IPL with respect to the number of IPL trophies won. Dhoni also leads the way when it comes to most matches won as captain in IPL. Undoubtedly, he is the most successful captain in VIVO IPL.

2. Rohit Sharma – Mumbai Indians (MI)

Rohit Sharma comes across as a balanced captain and has 3 IPL trophies to his name as a captain. He ranks 3rd when it comes to the most wins in IPL as captain, only behind MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir. The ability to analyse the game and think one step ahead of the opposition make him one of the IPL most successful captains.

The winning percentage of 57.69 and grabbing IPL trophy 3 times speak volumes about his leadership. The MI fans will look forward to the IPL 2020 season and hope that Rohit performs with bat and also as a captain. Rohit Sharma is in the list of most IPL wins captain.

3. Gautam Gambhir – Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

An aggressive captain on the field, Gautam Gambhir has been instrumental in the success of Kolkata Knight Riders. When it comes to most wins in IPL as captains, Gambhir is 2nd on the list.

After joining KKR as a captain, Gambhir changed the fortune of the franchise and has helped the team win the IPL trophy 2 times. Undoubtedly, Gambhir is one of the IPL most successful captains and has led from the front whenever his team needed him to stand tall. Currently, Dinesh Kartik leads the KKR side, and he will look to follow the footsteps of the greatest KKR captain to date, Gautam Gambhir. He is ranked higher when it comes to the most wins as a captain in IPL.

4. Virat Kohli – Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Virat might not have any IPL trophy to show against his name but has led his side with aggression. He has always led from the front and will hope that RCB will raise the bar and bring home the coveted IPL trophy.

Kohli will look to win the IPL trophy in 2020 and to join the IPL most successful captain club. RCBians will look forward to the upcoming season and hope that the captain fearless leads them to their first IPL trophy.

5. Adam Gilchrist – Deccan Chargers (DC) and Kings 11 Punjab

Adam Gilchrist is one of the IPL successful captains and has led Deccan Chargers to IPL trophy in the 2009 season in South Africa. This IPL successful captain later went on to captain the Kings 11 Punjab team.

In his IPL captainship career, he holds a moderate win percentage of 47.29. His unique and fun-loving style of captainship will always be ingrained in the hearts of IPL fans. Gilchrist is also one of the highest winning captain in IPL.

6. Shane Warne – Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Shane Warne is considered a tactical genius and has proved it over the years when he captained Rajasthan Royals in the IPL. He led his side to the IPL trophy in the inaugural season of IPL and was the most successful IPL captain in 2008.

Warne just knew how to communicate with different players from around the globe. Knowing what to speak when was something that separated him from the rest.

Rajasthan Royals were termed as underdogs in the first season, as they didn’t have many recognized players; Warne gathered his troops together, and the rest is history. Out of 55 matches that Shane Warne led, Rajasthan Royals managed to win 30 matches.

7. Virender Sehwag – Delhi Daredevils and Kings 11 Punjab (DD and KXIP)

A fearless batsman and a fearless captain, Sehwag was never afraid of taking on challenges. His simple approach to the game rubbed off on his teammates. Sehwag captained 53 times in IPL and managed to secure win 28 times. If he would have captained more matches, he would have definitely ranked higher in the list of most wins as captain in IPL.

8. Sachin Tendulkar – Mumbai Indians (MI)

Sachin Tendulkar, a cricketing genius, led Mumbai Indians in 51 games. He managed to win on 30 occasions, before passing on the captaincy to the talented Rohit Sharma. If he would have been around for long in IPL, he would have definitely been in the list of most winning captain in IPL.

9. Steve Smith – Rajasthan Royals and Rising Pune Supergiants

Steve Smith is a great tactician and understands the game better than most. He has an impressive winning percentage of 62, making him one of the most successful captain of IPL.

Smith captained Rising Pune Supergiants in IPL 2017 and took them to the finals. Rajasthan Royals will rely heavily on Smith, both as a captain and a batsman.

10. David Warner – Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

David Warner brings a lot to the table. He is a gutsy character, and that shows in his captaincy as well. On a given day, he can take down any bowling attack on his own.

As a captain, David Warner has 26 wins from 47 games. He holds an impressive win percentage of 55.31% and makes it to the list of most IPL wins as captain. Sunrisers depend heavily on the quick start that Warner provides, and inputs that he offers as a captain.

KhelChamps – Fantasy Sports App:

With the IPL 2020 scheduled to be starting on 19th September in UAE, fantasy sports will be in high demand. The 100% Indian Fantasy sports app – KhelChamps provides you with an exciting opportunity to make your IPL fantasy team and join various contests. You can win exciting cash prizes during this season of IPL. Also, the KhelChamps app provides you with the best user experience and fastest withdrawals. Download the KhelChamps App and start your IPL fantasy cricket journey!  

Leave a comment

1 Comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *