How Many Players Can Be Retained in IPL?

How Many Players Can Be Retained in IPL?

If you are a cricket fan, this question must have surely crossed your mind at least once. You may have wondered how many players can be retained in IPL 2021. Every cricket fan wishes to know how the teams are selected for IPL matches and how their favorite players are chosen or eliminated. If you are also curious to know the answer to the question how many players can be retained in IPL, this post may help to answer your queries. Here we have shared all information regarding the IPL retained players 2021. Read and be better informed.

A Rough Background

The new rule for the 2021 IPL budget does not permit any franchise team to exceed the budget set for the team. The 2021 IPL auction was the first of its kind to have such rules. This caused many of the franchise teams to release some key players just prior to the IPL 2021 auction. The result of this is that many of the unexpected Indian and International players were out for auction to decide their fate. The answer to the question how many players can be retained in IPL has also been decided by the budget set for each team. Viewers who are keen followers of the IPL matches know that the answer to how many players can be retained in IPL 2021 depends directly on the budget.

The Retained and Released Players before 2021 IPL Auction

So, which of your favorite players will be playing this season and which of them have been eliminated? You can check the IPL retained players 2021 list to end your curiosity. Here we have shared the names of all the retained as well as eliminated players. Have a look!

Players Released:

The Royal Challengers Bangalore offloaded several players from their franchise team just before the auction. Aaron Finch was one of the international players from this team who was released before the IPL 2021 auction. The other players released from this team are Isuru Udana, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Umesh Yadav, Shivam Dubey, Moeen Ali, Dale Steyn, Gurkeerat Singh Mannand Parthiv Patel.

The Mumbai Indians team let go off the popular international bowler Lasith Malinga. The other players they released are James Pattinson, Sherfane Rutherford, Mitch McClenaghan, Digvijay Deshmukh, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Prince Balwant Rai.

The Chennai Super Kings team decided not to renew their contracts with Kedar Jadhav and Harbhajan Singh. They also released players Monu Singh, Piyush Chawla, Shane Watson and Murali Vijay.

The players released by Delhi Capitals are Tushar Deshpande, Alex Carey, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mohit Sharma, Jason Roy and Keemo Paul.

Kolkata Knight Riders has released Siddhesh Lad, Nikhil Naik, Chris Green, Siddharth M and Tom Banton.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have released Fabian Allen, B Sandeep, Yarra Prithviraj, Sanjay Yadav and Billy Stanlake.

Kings XI Punjab has released Krishnappa Gowtham, Jimmy Neesham, Tajinder Singh, Hardus Viljoen, Karun Nair, Jagadeesha Suchith, Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell and Mujeeb ur Rahman.

Rajasthan Royals have released Anirudha Joshi, Tom Curran,  Shashank Singh, Akash Singh, Oshane Thomas,  Varun Aaron, Steve Smith and Ankit Rajpoot.

Players Retained:

The Chennai Super Kings team retained Suresh Raina, M.S. Dhoni, R. Jadeja, S. Raina, D Bravo, R Gaikwad, I. Tahir, S. Thakur, S. Kishore, S. Curran, L. Ngidi, Faf Du Plessis, A. Rayudu, J. Hazlewood, D. Chahar and K.M. Asif.

Mumbai Indians retained batsmen Quinton De Kock, Rohit Sharma, Chris Lyn, Saurabh Tiwari, Aditya Tare and Anmolpreet Singh. The team also retained all-rounders Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard and Anukul Roy. Apart from these, the team also retained bowlers Rahul Chahar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohsin Khan, Trent Boult and Jayant Yadav.

Royal Challengers Bangalore retained Ab De Villiers, Virat Kohli, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Pavan Deshpande, Devdutt Padikkal, Adam Zampa, Mohammad Siraj, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Kane Richardson and Josh Phillippe.

The Delhi Capitals Franchise Team retained Chris Woakes, Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Sams, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Harshal Patel, R Ashwin, Pravin Dubey, Shimron Hetmyer, Amit Mishra, Lalit Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma and Rishabh Pant.

Kolkata Knight Riders have retained Tim Seifert, Dinesh Karthik, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Rahul Tripathi, Lockie Ferguson, Andre Russell, Shivam Mavi, Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Warrier, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Rinku Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakaravarthy, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan and Shubman Gill.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have retained Abhishek Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jonny Bairstow, Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Kane Williamson, Khaleel Ahmed, Virat Singh, Basil Thampi, Mitchell Marsh, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Wriddhiman Saha and Jason Holder.

Kings XI Punjab has retained Harpreet Brar, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, Darshan Nalkande,  Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Prabhsimran Singh,  Chris Jordan, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh,  Deepak Hooda, Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle,  Nicholas Pooran and KL Rahul.

Rajasthan Royals has retained Manan Vohra, David Miller, Robin Uthappa, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mayank Markande,  Anuj Rawat, Andrew Tye, Kartik Tyagi,  Jaydev Unadkat, Rahul Tewatia, Shreyas Gopal,  Mahipal Lomror, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer,  Riyan Parag, Sanju Samson and Ben Stokes.

Now that you know which are the IPL retained players 2021, surely your excitement for the next IPL season has doubled. All fans of IPL should also download the KhelChamps app on their smartphone device. They can enjoy fantasy cricket games during the IPL season and make money online with their knowledge and skills.

Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *